Spread the love

The historic Mayfield Homestead has once again opened its doors to welcome guests to the Orange region. 

The extraordinary property was purchased by the Eastham family who spent 12 months readying the property for visitors. It is the perfect base from which to explore the food and wine of Orange.

In addition to the homestead, there are four cottages that offer a variety of accommodation options nestled within the vineyard and sprawling arboretum.

The European history of Mayfield dates to 1815 when explorer, William Charles Wentworth, was granted Mayfield as acknowledgment for his earlier crossing of the Blue Mountains. In 1840 the property was transferred to local grazier, businessman and politician Thomas Icely.

Mayfield continued to prosper, passing through a number of families including William ‘Parson’ Tom after he discovered Australia’s first payable gold in nearby Ophir in 1851.

The property now accommodates guests in a range of beautiful buildings, including the main historic homestead, along with the oldest cottage, The Settlers Cottage, which was erected in 1886.

During the 1900s the property was owned and run by the famous Scottish biscuit makers, the Crawfords. At their peak, they were the largest privately owned biscuit manufacturer in Britain. The family ran sheep and set about creating a village atmosphere, building The School House (now the Mayfield Cellar Door) to educate the Scottish workers’ children.

The Mayfield Homestead was inspired by famed Australian artist, author and architect Hardy Wilson, with construction beginning 1906 and completed in 1910. Recognised as one of the most outstanding architects of the twentieth century, the Homestead is now recognised by the National Trust. 

This substantial piece of Australia rural history boosts five (or up seven) bedrooms, four bathrooms, formal dining room, three living areas, country kitchen and large outdoor dining areas. For guests, the Cellar Door is a nearby stroll, and the grounds, with vineyards, lakes and gardens are their playground.

When James S.R. Crawford died his widow, Margaret remained at Mayfield. Margaret spent 65 years here and her everlasting gift to Mayfield was the arboretum with over 50 species of trees, many over 100 years old.

“We are particularly proud to be able to offer this luxury property to guests to enjoy,” says owner John Eastham.

“Mayfield is located in the midst of Orange’s idyllic cool climate vineyards and allows us to offer a range of accommodation. This includes The School House, The Rose Cottage, The Overseers Cottage, The Settlers Cottage, and The Garden Flat.”

Guests are able to book all the cottages for group functions and weddings in the gardens.

Further information and bookings can be found here: https://www.mayfieldvineyard.com.au/cottages/